RoundUp - March 2016 (Uk sites)

Hello again, here's my monthly tech site roundup where I recommend the UK sites that have impressed me this month and provide links to them too. This month I've turned my attention to hard disk related problems and the need for data recovery services. These are usually technical companies that have the ability to retrieve information from hard disk drives that have broken and no longer work. Hence the need for a data recovery service to retrieve the data from the hard drives.

Example 1: Could not access hard drive (whirred and showed question mark. Apple could not restart. My son has taken the hard disc out and installed in a docking station, but it doesn't drive the disc. I'm an academic and would like my current WORD files retrieved if possible back to June 2012, when my back up failed without warning me. I now have a new computer and do not need applications, pdfs or ppt's which I can retrieve from my downloads or memory sticks.
My comments: Sounds like you need the services of a data recovery company to me! Try http://www.datlabsdatarecovery.co.uk on  0871 977 2999 (UK).

Example 2: Hi, I have a Canvio 3tb that I had partitioned with Time Machine. It is does not show up on my Macbook nor on my sons Windows Laptop. Have you had experience reovering from this issue as a basic technician has already taken a look? Toshiba wouldn't cover the work under warranty as the serial number was not present? If you can conduct the work what would be a rough estimate of price? I am currently out of the country so please reply via email.
My comments: The Apple Time Machine is a form of external hard drive and a good post with good advice regarding rescuing the files from device like these can be found on the Frank Canon microsite at http://frankcanon.blogbaker.com/2016/03/14/external-hard-drive-problems.

That's it for this month. Short and sweet I guess. Remember that if you have any technical queries or questions you can contact me and I'll try and answer them. They may even make their way onto my month blog roundup too.