CCTV / LaCie RAID / Laptop Data Questions

3 questions in this post from visitors to the Data Clinic web site.

Question: I need a recording on my CCTV that has been overwritten, it will vindcate someone in a police case. Is this possible ??? Please I need this ASAP and am located in Sheffield.

Answer: I'm sorry for you as it is not possible to recover information from a CCTV system where the data has been overwritten.

Question: I have the 5BIG Lacie Raid (30TB Thunderbolt 2 version) and switching it on today it now gives me "Error code -36" in Finder when copying or writing to the drive and when I open Premiere Projects it says "Files damaged or corrupt". Could you please let me know if this is fixable either remotely or should I bring it in to your London data recovery location? FYI all 5 lights on the ride drives are blue and functioning!

Answer: Yes thanks for your enquiry you've probably got bad sectors on one or more of the hard drives that can't be read correctly. This can lead to files becoming damaged or corrupted and also greatly increase the response time of the unit. As you are in London I recommend that you take the RAID into Data Clinic's offices on Lombard Street (next the the Bank tube station)

Question: My old laptop has been left for a couple of years and no longer switches on.

However I have loads of files on there – photos, videos, work etc that I would love to retrieve. Is there anyway that this could be removed from the device? I don't really need the laptop but I would love the pictures in particular, can I call in ? I'm in Northampton.

Answer: Thank you for your question. My first recommendation is that we understand what the problem with your laptop is. If the only thing wrong with it is that it won't switch on then you don't need a hard drive recovery company. You can extract the data yourself. My advice is to get in touch with the people at the Data Recovery Advice web site who will be able to guide you through the steps necessary to retrieve your data.

Thanks for reading! - see you next time.