Macpro disk structure not reading

My portable hard drive seems to have stopped working with any of my devices. Makes a clicking noise and then disconnects itself. It has a lot of photos and music stored on it and no other back up.

There is a physical fault on my laptop hard drive (according to the guy in my local computer shop) I would need data recovery of photos/videos and word documents. If that is possible can you give me a price quote and timeframe for the service.

I own a very old Macpro desktop, circa 2006. This Macpro contains equally old 500GB Seagate hard disks. Model name Barracuda 7200.9 (let me know if any further info regarding the disk itself would be helpful). On this disk I had a windows partition installed via bootcamp. After more than 10 years of mostly faithful service this hard disk finally seems to have died. I can no longer boot the windows partition from the disk, and when I boot into Mac OS I can no longer even see the disk being detected by disk utility or system information apps. Even if the hard disk is dead, there is still data on the disk that I would like to recover. I wanted to come to you to see if this was possible, and if so, if you could give me a quote for recovery from such a disk. Let me know if I can provide any further info.

I wanted to see if my data can be recovered. My OS crashed and I couldn't access my HDD. I tried to boot up Ubuntu to access the files (was previously on Windows 10), but in doing this I accidentally formatted one of the partitions from NFTS to ext4. I can't access the files and want to know if this can be recovered. How much will this cost and what is the lead time?

I was copying some files and suddenly the external hard drive froze. I just unplugged it without stopping it properly and now I cannot access my files anymore. It says: F is not accessible. The disk structure is corrupted and unreadable. I cannot remember dropping the device or causing any other physical damage.

Barry says: Disk structuring problems can be simple or difficult to sort out - it depends on the problem. Whether the data is recoverable or not also depends on the problem. Usually Windows machines are easier to work on than Apple ones because of the way the filesystem works. You can contact me direct or try an independent expert like Data Recovery Tips (UK).