Teckgeek Goes DIY

I've been asked recently if I could post some information about how to troubleshoot HDDs rather than provide advice on who to send them to for repair and recovery. Well, this is fine, I've no problem in giving advice out, but my advice about which data recovery companies to use when you need to retrieve data from a faulty HDD is given because the companies I recommend know what they are doing and how to retrieve the data from a faulty disk!

By giving advice out about how to repair these devices yourself it is putting knowledge into your hands. Now I've no problem with that per se, but if you are a novice with working with hard drives (as many of you are) and you follow the advice I'm providing on my blog and the advice doesn't work, or worse still, I advice I'm giving you causes your hard drive to stop working altogether then you're going to blame me aren't you!

So instead of offering first hand advice about fixing broken hard drives, I'm going to point you to a blog or two that distill hard drive repair and recovery advice and offer tips that you can use yourself to recover the information from a hard drive or fix it when it breaks.

The best site I've found that provides hard drive and phone troubleshooting information is the excellent http://data-recovery-tips.co.uk/ site. Seemingly run by an enthusiastic data recovery professional it has many ideas you can try on your faulty hard drive to see if you can get it working again. The site also supplies information a mobile phone recovery and how to go about retrieving the data from a broken mobile or smart phone.

So take a few minutes and visit this site - it could solve all your hard drive problems.